African qualifications format for FIVB World Championships confirmed

3 June 2013

 Cairo, Egypt, May 29, 2013- African Volleyball confederation "CAVB" confirmed the new format for the 2014 World Championship Qualifications duo to start in the continent in June 2013. The new format passes through three stages till the African qualifiers secure their tickets to the FIVB prestigious events to be hosted by Poland for men and Italy for women next year.


 The long way start by the first phase which is the Sub- Zonal tournaments featuring the whole 43 men and 39 women participants where they will be divided into 12 sub groups based on the zonal geographical distribution. Zones 1 and 7 countries will be collected in one pool as each of them has only 4 countries, while zones 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 will be divided into two sub groups.


 The top three teams from each sub- Zonal pool will be qualified to the second phase which is the zonal phase making out 36 countries in both genders.


 In the zonal phase the 36 teams will be re- divided into 7 pools where the winner of Pools related to zones 1 and 7 beside the top two teams from the pools related to zones 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 make their way to the final phase making out a total of 12 qualifiers.


 In the final phase of the men qualifications, the top three ranked team in the last FIVB ranking will join the 12 qualifiers to make a total of 15 teams. They will be divided into three final pools where the champions of each pool secure their tickets to the FIVB event (Three African qualifiers).


 In the final phase of the women qualifications the same number of zonal qualifiers (12 teams) will be joined by the top two countries in the FIVB Ranking making 14 teams where they will be divided into two pools each of 7 teams where the winner of each pool make their journey to the World Championship.


 The sub- zonal phase will be held in June and July, 2013 while the zonal phase will be organized in October and November, 2013 and the finals in January and February 2014.


 The World Volleyball governing body "FIVB" granted Africa three places at the FIVB Men's World Championship in Poland and two vacancies in the Women's World championship in Italy


Sub- zonal Pools Distribution

Zone 1 (Pool A): Algeria- Tunisia- Libya- Morocco

Zone 2 (Pool B): Senegal- Gambia- Mauritania- Cap Verde

           (Pool C): Guinea Bissau- Guinea Conakry- Sierra Leone- Mali

Zone 3 (Pool D): Cote d'Ivoire- Burkina Faso- Ghana- Liberia

           (Pool E): Togo- Nigeria- Niger- Benin

Zone 4 (Pool F): Chad- Central African Republic- Cameroon- Sao Tome

           (Pool G): RD Congo- Congo Brazzaville- Gabon- Equatorial Guinea

Zone 5 (Pool H): Kenya- Rwanda- Burundi- Uganda- Tanzania

           (Pool I): Egypt- Sudan- Ethiopia- Djibouti- Somalia- Eretria

Zone 6 (Pool J): Lesotho- South Africa- Botswana- Mozambique- Swaziland

           (Pool K): Namibia- Malawi- Angola- Zambia- Zimbabwe

Zone 7 (Pool L): Mauritius- Madagascar- Seychelles- Comoros  



Africa Union Sport Council Region 5 Volleyball Competition starts

   Gaborone, Botswana, December 11, 2018- Africa Union Sport Council "AUSC Region 5 Volleyba

Botswana's Police 6 and eSwatini's Correctional crowned Zone 6 Club Champions

   Durban, South Africa, December 7, 2018- Police 6 of Botswana claimed Zone 6 Club Championship following th

Zone II highlights the quadrennial development plan

Dakar, Senegal, February 5, 2017

Zone 3 confirms 2017 competition calendar

Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire, Ja