Tunisia's Sfax book World Championship ticket -Final

27 April 2013

Tripoli, Libya, April 27, 2013- Five time champions Sfax (Tunisia) claimed the gold medal of the 2013 Men’s African Club Championship following their victory over compatriots Esperance 3-2 (23-25, 25-22, 25-15, 27-29, 15-12) in the final match held in Tripoli, Libya on Saturday to book 2013 FIVB World Championship ticket to be held in Brazil October 15-10, 2013.


 Sfax improved their record in the African supreme Club competition to 6 trophies coming in the second position after record holders Ahly (Egypt) who have 10 cups under their name.  


Meanwhile home side Al Ahly Tripoli secured the bronze medal after beating Prisons (Kenya) 3-0 (25-17, 26-24, 25-16) in the third place match.


 FAP clinched the fifth position as they hammered Ahli Benighazi (Libya) 3-2 (25-20, 21-25, 25-21, 24-26, 18-16).


 Swehli (Libya) finished in the seventh position as they flew past Autoridade Tributaria (Mozambique) 3-1 (25-12, 25-11, 22-25, 25-17)


 The final was the competition most exciting match as Esperance had the upper hand in the first set using the efficient spikes of Saleh Fathy and the proper blocking by Bilel Benhassine to win the set 25-23. Sfax came back strongly through their experienced spiker Noureddine Hfaidh who sent his sharp hits from position 4 beside his role in blocking to win the second set 25-22 and then the third set in a wider point deficit 25-15. The fourth set was the most exciting as Esperance saved three match points to win the set 29-27 through the leadership of the experienced setter Mehdi Ben Sheikh to extend the match to tiebreak. The tiebreak was again controlled by the experience of Sfax players to win 15-12.


Individual prizes

·         MVP: Noureddine Hfaedh (Sfax- Tunissia)

·         Best spiker: Fuad Elmaarug (Ahli Tripoli- Libya).

·         Best blocker: Mohamed Salama (Ahli Benighazi- Libya)

·         Best Server: Daniel (Prisons- Kenya)

·         Best Receiver: Saleh Fathy (Esperance- Tunisia)

·         Best Setter: Mehdi Ben Sheikh (Esperance- Tunisia)

·         Best Libero: Anouar Taouarghi (Sfax- Tunisia)  


Final Standings

1. Sfax (Tunisia)

2. Esperance (Tunisia)

3. Ahli Tripoli (Libya)

4. Prisons (Kenya)

5. FAP (Cameroon)

6. Ahly Benighazi (Libya)

7. Swehli (Libya)

8. Autoridade Tributaria (Mozambique)

9- Bourj Bouaririj (Algeria)

10-Delta Spikers (Nigeria)

11-Nemostars (Uganda)

12-Alnahda (Sudan)

13-AUC (Ivory Coast)

14- Muger Cement (Ethiopia)

15- Muzinga (Burundi)

16-DGSP (Congo Brazzaville)

17-Daim Mahad (Sudan)